• All American Racers Official Name
  • California, USA Base
  • 1966 F1 Debut
  • Dan Gurney & Carroll Shelby Team Boss
  • Len Terry Technical Chief
  • 0 World Championships

The Eagle F1 team, officially known as All American Racers (AAR), was founded by racing legends Dan Gurney and Carroll Shelby in 1965.

Notable Team Members and Drivers

Dan Gurney: Founder, driver, and the only American to win a Formula 1 Grand Prix in a car of his own construction at the 1967 Belgian Grand Prix.

Carroll Shelby: Co-founder, renowned for his contributions to motorsport and automotive development.

Initially, AAR focused on competing in the prestigious races of Formula One, IndyCar, and sports car racing, with its cars famously branded as “Eagles” due to their distinctive “beak” front design. The team’s inception was notably backed by Goodyear Tyre and Rubber Company, marking the beginning of Goodyear’s significant involvement in Formula 1 and the Indianapolis 500.

AAR’s entry into Formula One was fueled by corporate sponsorship and public support to field a car representing the United States. The debut of their F1 car at the 1967 Dutch Grand Prix was a landmark moment, showcasing an innovative design featuring a magnesium chassis, titanium exhaust system, and a high-performing V12 engine developed in collaboration with Weslake Engineering.

Throughout its time on the grid, AAR designed and built 158 Eagle racing cars, spanning various categories, including Formula One, IndyCar, Formula 5000, and sports cars, achieving remarkable success. The team’s highlights include winning a Formula 1 Grand Prix, the Indianapolis 500, and numerous sports car races, making it the only U.S. constructor to have won in all these categories.​

Eagle Formula One World Championship Records

First entry1966 Belgian Grand Prix
Races entered26
Constructors’ Championships0
Drivers’ Championships0
Race victories1
Pole positions0
Fastest laps2
Final entry1969 Canadian Grand Prix

Eagle Championship Results

1966All American RacersBob Bondurant
Phil Hill
Dan Gurney
1967All American RacersLudovico Scarfiotti
Al Pease
Bruce McLaren
Richie Ginther
Dan Gurney
1968All American RacersAl Pease
Dan Gurney
1969All American RacersAl Pease0n/a