McLaren Formula 1 Team Logo




  • McLaren Formula 1 Team Official Name
  • Woking, United Kingdom Base
  • 1966 F1 Debut
  • Andrea Stella Team Boss
  • Peter Prodromou / Neil Houldey Technical Chief
  • 8 World Championships

Based at the McLaren Technology Centre in Woking, England, McLaren Racing is better known as a Formula One constructor and as the second oldest and second most successful F1 team after Ferrari.

Current McLaren Drivers

4 Lando Norris F1 2023


2019 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut

McLaren Current/Last Team

81 Oscar Piastri F1 2023


2023 Bahrain Grand Prix F1 Debut

McLaren Current/Last Team

Full Team Name: McLaren Formula 1 Team
Base: Woking, United Kingdom
Team Chief: Andrea Stella
Technical Chief: Peter Prodromou / Neil Houldey
First Team Entry: 1966
World Championships: 8

McLaren has won over 180 races, 12 Drivers’ Championships, and 8 Constructors’ Championships. McLaren also boasts a rich history of American open-wheel racing, competing as both an entrant and a chassis constructor, and winning the Canadian-American Challenge Cup (Can-Am) sports car racing championship.

The team was founded in 1963 by New Zealander Bruce McLaren. Although they won their first Grand Prix at the 1968 Belgian Grand Prix, McLaren’s greatest initial success was in Can-Am, which they dominated from 1967 to 1971. The team continued to win big in America, with Indianapolis 500 wins in McLaren cars for Mark Donohue in 1972 and Johnny Rutherford in 1974 and 1976. After Bruce McLaren’s untimely death in a testing accident in 1970, Teddy Mayer took over and led the team to their first Formula One Constructors’ Championship in 1974, with Emerson Fittipaldi and James Hunt winning the Drivers’ Championship in 1974 and 1976, respectively. The start of a long-standing sponsorship by the Marlboro cigarette brand also occurred in 1974.

In 1981, McLaren merged with Ron Dennis’ Project Four Racing. Dennis took over as team principal and organised a buyout of the original McLaren shareholders to take full control of the team, beginning the team’s most successful era.

With Porsche and Honda engines, Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, and Ayrton Senna won seven Drivers’ Championships between them, and the team took six Constructors’ Championships. The combination of Prost and Senna was particularly dominant, as they won all but one race in 1988, but later, their rivalry soured, and Prost left for Ferrari.

During this period, the Williams team provided the most consistent challenge, with the two teams winning every constructors’ title between 1984 and 1994. However, by the mid-1990s, Honda had withdrawn from Formula One, Senna had moved to Williams, and the team went three seasons without a win.

With Mercedes-Benz engines, West sponsorship, and former Williams designer Adrian Newey, the team secured further championships in 1998 and 1999 with driver Mika Häkkinen and throughout the 2000s, the team remained consistent front-runners, with driver Lewis Hamilton taking their latest title in 2008.

Ron Dennis retired as McLaren team principal in 2009, handing over to long-time McLaren employee Martin Whitmarsh. At the end of 2013, after the team’s worst season since 2004, Whitmarsh was ousted. McLaren announced in 2013 that they would be using Honda engines from 2015 onwards, replacing Mercedes-Benz. The team raced as McLaren Honda for the first time since 1992 at the 2015 Australian Grand Prix. In September 2017, McLaren announced they had agreed on an engine supply with Renault from 2018 to 2020. From 2021, McLaren reverted to Mercedes-Benz engines until at least 2024.

Away from F1, McLaren has expanded into other racing series, entering the electric off-road racing series Extreme E in 2022 and joining Formula E in the 2022-23 season.

McLaren Drivers’ Champions

The following drivers won the Formula One Drivers’ Championship for McLaren.

DriverNationalityChampionship Year
Emerson FittipaldiBrazilian1974
James HuntBritish1976
Niki LaudaAustrian1984
Alain ProstFrench1985
Alain ProstFrench1986
Ayrton SennaBrazilian1988
Alain ProstFrench1989
Ayrton SennaBrazilian1990
Ayrton SennaBrazilian1991
Mika HäkkinenFinnish1998
Mika HäkkinenFinnish1999
Lewis HamiltonBritish2008

McLaren Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
New Zealand McLaren 1958 German Grand Prix F1 Legend
Austrian McLaren 1971 Austrian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Brazilian Benetton 1978 German Grand Prix F1 Legend
French Williams 1980 Argentine Grand Prix F1 Legend
British McLaren 1980 Austrian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Brazilian Williams 1984 Brazilian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Finnish McLaren 1991 United States Grand Prix F1 Legend
British Mercedes 2007 Australian Grand Prix Current
British McLaren 2000 Australian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Finnish Alfa Romeo 2001 Australian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Spanish Aston Martin 2001 Australian Grand Prix Current
Mexican Red Bull Racing 2011 Australian Grand Prix Current
Danish Haas 2014 Australian Grand Prix Current
British McLaren 2019 Australian Grand Prix Current
Spanish Ferrari 2015 Australian Grand Prix Current
Australian RB 2011 British Grand Prix Current
Australian McLaren 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix Current