Sergio Perez F1 2023


Sergio Pérez


  • Guadalajara, Mexico Place of Birth
  • 26 January 1990 Date of Birth
  • 2011 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut
  • Red Bull Racing Current/Last Team


Sergio “Checo” Pérez is a renowned Mexican racing driver with an illustrious career in Formula One. Currently racing for Red Bull Racing, Pérez has also driven for Sauber, McLaren, Force India, and Racing Point.

His skill on the track has earned him over five F1 Grand Prix wins, with his first victory coming in the 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix, where he broke the record for the most starts before a race win at 190.

In 2022, Pérez set another record by earning his first Formula One pole position at the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix after 215 races. Before joining the Red Bull Racing team, Pérez was a member of the Ferrari Driver Academy until 2012, when he made his debut in Formula One driving for Sauber during the 2011 season. Pérez’s first podium came at the 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix with Sauber, where he was referred to as “The Mexican Wunderkind” due to his young age and impressive performance.

Pérez joined McLaren for the 2013 season but unfortunately, the team did not score any podium finishes. Consequently, Pérez was replaced by Kevin Magnussen for the 2014 season. However, Force India signed Pérez for the 2014 season with a €15 million contract, and he remained with the team when it went into administration in 2018 and reformed as Racing Point in 2019.

Despite his impressive track record, Pérez’s time with Racing Point ended in 2020 when they signed four-time F1 world champion Sebastian Vettel. Fortunately, he quickly secured a spot with Red Bull Racing for the 2021 season, where he is currently under contract until the end of 2024.

With his impressive accomplishments, Pérez has cemented his place in Formula One history as a true racing talent.


Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
British McLaren 2000 Australian Grand Prix F1 Legend
German Haas 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix Current
French Alpine 2016 Belgian Grand Prix Current
Canadian Aston Martin 2017 Australian Grand Prix Current
Dutch Red Bull Racing 2015 Australian Grand Prix Current


Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Sauber Swiss 1993 Current
McLaren British 1966 Current
Force India Indian 2008 Historic
Racing Point British 2019 Historic
Red Bull Racing Austrian 2005 Current