2022 F1 World Championship

Season Summary

The 2022 F1 season was the 73rd edition of the FIA Formula 1 World Championship, contested over 22 Grand Prix weekends worldwide, starting in March and concluding in November, ending earlier than normal to avoid conflicting with the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

The 2022 season featured one of the biggest updates in F1 history to the sport’s technical rules. Originally planned for 2021, it was postponed to 2022 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Following an investigation into the 2021 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, Michael Masi, who had been the race director since Charlie Whiting’s death in 2019, was replaced in his position. The restructuring of race control led to the appointment of Niels Wittich, previously a DTM race director, and Eduardo Freitas, who had been a race director for the World Endurance Championship (WEC). They took on the role while agreeing to alternate races. In addition to boosting credibility, Herbie Blash, who had served as Charlie Whiting’s deputy, was appointed as a permanent senior advisor to the race director.


The technical regulations for 2022 marked the reintroduction of ground-effect cars, not seen since 1983 when the ban on venturi tunnels under cars came into play. These changes, including a simplified bodywork design, shifted the primary source of aerodynamic grip to the car’s underside. The goal was to reduce the amount of turbulent air behind the cars, with the hope of allowing drivers to follow closer to the cars in front while maintaining comparable downforce levels to previous seasons.

Aerodynamic modifications were also made to limit airflow being manipulated by teams around the front wheels and minimise the cars’ aerodynamic wake. This included removing bargeboards and simplifying the front wing and endplates. The front wing was required to connect directly to the nosecone, differing from previous designs that allowed space under the monocoque for enhanced airflow. Rear wings were made wider and mounted higher, with additional limits to prevent the use of exhaust gases for downforce generation.

Max Verstappen, the defending Drivers’ Champion, secured his second consecutive championship at the 2022 Japanese Grand Prix. His team, Red Bull Racing, clinched their fifth World Constructor Championship, and their first since 2013, at the subsequent United States Grand Prix. In a surprising downward spiral, Mercedes, the previous year’s Constructors’ Champions, won just a single race in 2022.

The season also marked the retirement of four-time World Champion Sebastian Vettel. It was also a challenging year for seven-time World Champion Lewis Hamilton, as he did not achieve any pole positions or Grand Prix wins throughout the season, a first in his Formula 1 career since his debut in 2007.

2022 F1 Entries drivers and teams

2022 Formula 1 Race Calendar

The 2022 racing calendar included 22 Grand Prix weekends. The races held in Emilia Romagna, Austria, and São Paulo also included the Sprint format.

RoundGrand PrixCircuitRace date
1Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain International Circuit20-Mar
2Saudi Arabian Grand PrixJeddah Corniche Circuit27-Mar
3Australian Grand PrixAlbert Park Circuit10-Apr
4Emilia Romagna Grand PrixAutodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari24-Apr
5Miami Grand PrixMiami International Autodrome08-May
6Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya22-May
7Monaco Grand PrixCircuit de Monaco29-May
8Azerbaijan Grand PrixBaku City Circuit12-Jun
9Canadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles-Villeneuve19-Jun
10British Grand PrixSilverstone Circuit03-Jul
11Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring10-Jul
12French Grand PrixCircuit Paul Ricard24-Jul
13Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring31-Jul
14Belgian Grand PrixCircuit de Spa-Francorchamps28-Aug
15Dutch Grand PrixCircuit Zandvoort04-Sep
16Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari11-Sep
17Singapore Grand PrixMarina Bay Street Circuit02-Oct
18Japanese Grand PrixSuzuka International Racing Course09-Oct
19United States Grand PrixCircuit of The Americas23-Oct
20Mexico City Grand PrixAutódromo Hermanos Rodríguez30-Oct
21São Paulo Grand PrixAutodromo José Carlos Pace13-Nov
22Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina Circuit20-Nov

2022 Formula 1 Race Results

RoundGrand PrixPole positionFastest lapWinning driverWinning constructor
1Bahrain Bahrain Grand PrixCharles LeclercCharles LeclercCharles LeclercFerrari
2Saudi Arabia Saudi Arabian Grand PrixSergio PérezCharles LeclercMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
3Australia Australian Grand PrixCharles LeclercCharles LeclercCharles LeclercFerrari
4Italy Emilia Romagna Grand PrixMax VerstappenMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
5United States Miami Grand PrixCharles LeclercMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
6Spain Spanish Grand PrixCharles LeclercSergio PérezMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
7Monaco Monaco Grand PrixCharles LeclercLando NorrisSergio PérezRed Bull Racing-RBPT
8Azerbaijan Azerbaijan Grand PrixCharles LeclercSergio PérezMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
9Canada Canadian Grand PrixMax VerstappenCarlos SainzMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
10United Kingdom British Grand PrixCarlos SainzLewis HamiltonCarlos SainzFerrari
11Austria Austrian Grand PrixMax VerstappenMax VerstappenCharles LeclercFerrari
12France French Grand PrixCharles LeclercCarlos SainzMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
13Hungary Hungarian Grand PrixGeorge RussellLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
14Belgium Belgian Grand PrixCarlos SainzMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
15Netherlands Dutch Grand PrixMax VerstappenMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
16Italy Italian Grand PrixCharles LeclercSergio PérezMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
17Singapore Singapore Grand PrixCharles LeclercGeorge RussellSergio PérezRed Bull Racing-RBPT
18Japan Japanese Grand PrixMax VerstappenZhou GuanyuMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
19United States United States Grand PrixCarlos SainzGeorge RussellMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
20Mexico Mexico City Grand PrixMax VerstappenGeorge RussellMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT
21Brazil São Paulo Grand PrixKevin MagnussenGeorge RussellGeorge RussellMercedes
22United Arab Emirates Abu Dhabi Grand PrixMax VerstappenLando NorrisMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-RBPT

2022 Formula 1 Standings

Points for the 2022 Formula 1 season were allocated to the top ten finishers, along with the driver clocking the fastest lap in the Grand Prix, provided they are among the top ten and to the top eight participants in the Sprint Race. When there’s a tie in points, the tie-breaker involves comparing the number of Grand Prix victories each driver has. If they have the same number of wins, the number of second-place finishes is taken into account, followed by third places, and so on.

Driver standings

Team standings