Williams Racing F1 Logo




  • Williams Racing Official Name
  • Grove, England Base
  • 1978 F1 Debut
  • James Vowles Team Boss
  • Pat Fry Technical Chief
  • 9 World Championships

Williams Racing is one of the most historic Formula 1 teams still on the grid. It is based in Grove, Oxfordshire, on a 60-acre site where the late Sir Frank Williams and Patrick Head founded the team in 1977. The team was formed after Frank Williams’ previous unsuccessful F1 teams, Frank Williams Racing Cars and later Wolf–Williams Racing, were unsuccessful in the 1976 season.

Current Williams Drivers

23 Alex Albon F1 2023


2019 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut

Williams Current/Last Team

2 Logan Sargeant F1 2023


2023 Bahrain Grand Prix F1 Debut

Williams Current/Last Team

Full Team Name: Williams Racing
Base: Grove, United Kingdom
Team Chief: James Vowles
Technical Chief: Pat Fry
First Team Entry: 1978
World Championships: 9

The team’s debut race as a non-constructor was the 1977 Spanish Grand Prix, where they ran a March chassis for Patrick Nève. The following year, Williams started manufacturing its own cars, where they made their first entry as an offical constructor at the 1978 Argentine Grand Prix. The team’s first win came at the 1979 British Grand Prix with Clay Regazzoni behind the wheel.

Williams went on to win nine Constructors’ Championships between 1980 and 1997, a record until Ferrari won its tenth championship in 2000. They are also one of only five teams in Formula 1, alongside Ferrari, McLaren, Mercedes, and Red Bull Racing, to win 100 races, with Jacques Villeneuve scoring the team’s 100th race victory at the 1997 British Grand Prix.

Over the decades, Williams has had a long list of notable drivers, including Alan Jones, Keke Rosberg, Nigel Mansell, Damon Hill, David Coulthard, Jenson Button, Juan Pablo Montoya, Alain Prost, Nelson Piquet, Ayrton Senna, Riccardo Patrese, Valtteri Bottas, Felipe Massa and Jacques Villeneuve. Of these drivers, Jones, Rosberg, Mansell, Hill, Piquet, Prost, and Villeneuve won the Drivers’ Championship with the team. Only Jones, Rosberg, and Villeneuve defended their title while still with the team. Strangely, none of the Drivers’ Champions with Williams have gone on to win another championship after their success with Williams.

Since 1977, Williams has collaborated with various engine manufacturers, most successfully with Renault, winning five of their nine Constructors’ titles.

Along with Ferrari, McLaren, Benetton, and Renault, Williams is one of the five teams that won every Constructors’ Championship between 1979 and 2008 and every Drivers’ Championship from 1984 to 2008.

Away from Formula 1, Williams also has business interests in other areas, such as Williams Advanced Engineering and Williams Hybrid Power, which take technology developed for Formula One and adapt it for commercial use.

After a poor financial year in 2019, Williams announced in May 2020 that they were seeking buyers for a portion of the team and terminated their contract with title sponsor ROKiT. Later that year, on 21 August 2020, Dorilton Capital acquired the team. Just weeks later, on 6 September 2020, Frank and Claire Williams stepped down from their roles within the team, with the 2020 Italian Grand Prix being their last in their respective positions. Claire Williams had been offered the chance to remain as Team Principal, but she declined. The race marked the first time the Williams F1 Team competed without the Williams family’s leadership since it was founded 43 years earlier.

In Claire’s place, Simon Roberts, who had joined Williams from McLaren earlier in the year, took on the role of acting team principal. Later, in December 2020, Williams announced the appointment of Jost Capito as the new CEO, with Roberts officially assuming the position of team principal and reporting to Capito. This role was short-lived, and halfway through the following season, in June 2021, Simon Roberts departed from the team. Following his departure, most of his responsibilities were assumed by Jost Capito, while François-Xavier Demaison took over his trackside leadership duties.

Another leadership change occurred again at the start of the 2023 season, with James Vowles taking over as the team’s new Principal. Vowles brought experience from his title-winning years with Mercedes, where he was the team’s chief strategist.

Williams Drivers’ Champions

The following drivers won the Formula One Drivers’ Championship for Williams F1.

DriverNationalityChampionship Year
Alan JonesAustralian1980
Keke RosbergFinnish1982
Nelson PiquetBrazilian1987
Nigel MansellBritish1992
Alain ProstFrench1993
Damon HillBritish1996
Jacques VilleneuveCanadian1997

Williams Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
Brazilian Benetton 1978 German Grand Prix F1 Legend
British McLaren 1980 Austrian Grand Prix F1 Legend
French Williams 1980 Argentine Grand Prix F1 Legend
Brazilian Williams 1984 Brazilian Grand Prix F1 Legend
British McLaren 2000 Australian Grand Prix F1 Legend
German Mercedes 2006 Bahrain Grand Prix F1 Legend
Brazilian Williams 1993 South African Grand Prix Retired
German Haas 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix Current
Finnish Sauber 2013 Australian Grand Prix Current
Canadian Aston Martin 2017 Australian Grand Prix Current
Polish Alfa Romeo 2006 Hungarian Grand Prix Retired
British Mercedes 2019 Australian Grand Prix Current
Canadian Williams 2020 Austrian Grand Prix Retired
British Williams 2020 Sakhir Grand Prix Retired
Dutch AlphaTauri 2022 Italian Grand Prix Retired
Thai Williams 2019 Australian Grand Prix Current
American Williams 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix Current