Ayrton Senna F1 1994

F1 Legend

Ayrton Senna


  • São Paulo, Brazil Place of Birth
  • 21 March 1960 Date of Birth
  • 1984 Brazilian Grand Prix F1 Debut
  • Williams Current/Last Team

Ayrton Senna, a Brazilian racing driver, is arguably one of the greatest F1 drivers who left an indelible mark on the sport of Formula One,

Senna won the World Drivers’ Championship three times during his illustrious career, in 1988, 1990, and 1991. With 41 Grand Prix wins and 65 pole positions, Senna cemented his place in the history of Formula One, holding the latter record until 2006. Unfortunately, the possibility of more records would never be realised as Senna’s untimely death during the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix while driving for the Williams team shook the racing world to its core.

Ayrton Senna
Ayrton Senna secured McLaren’s 100th victory in F1
BornAyrton Senna da Silva
21 March 1960
São Paulo, Brazil
Died1 May 1994 (aged 34)
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy

Senna’s journey to the top began with karting, and he quickly moved up the ranks to open-wheel racing, winning the 1983 British Formula Three Championship. He made his Formula One debut with Toleman-Hart in 1984 before joining Lotus-Renault and winning six Grand Prix in the following three seasons.

In 1988, he joined forces with Frenchman Alain Prost at McLaren-Honda, and together, they dominated the competition, winning all but one of the 16 Grand Prix that year. Senna claimed his first World Championship that year, while Prost won the title in 1989. Senna won his second and third championships in 1990 and 1991, respectively.

As the Williams-Renault team began to dominate Formula One in 1992, Senna could only finish the 1993 season as runner-up for McLaren while winning five races. With the Williams team looking to dominate again the following season, Senna decided to move to Williams for the 1994 season, a season where he would meet an untimely death at the San Marino Grand Prix held at the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari circuit.

Remembered as one of F1’s greats, Senna’s ability to qualify quickly over one lap and his incredible wet-weather performances saw wins at the 1984 Monaco Grand Prix, the 1985 Portuguese Grand Prix, and the 1993 European Grand Prix, which demonstrated his skills as one of the best drivers of his generation. Senna’s six victories at the Monaco Grand Prix remain unmatched today.

While Senna was widely recognised as one of the most talented drivers in F1 history, he was also known for courting controversy, particularly during his contentious rivalry with Alain Prost. Senna and Prost collided at the Japanese Grand Prix of 1989 and 1990, ultimately determining the championship winner each year. Nevertheless, Senna’s incredible legacy and impact on Formula One cannot be denied. He remains the sixth-most successful driver of all time in terms of race wins and holds the record for the most wins for McLaren.

Ayrton Senna Formula One World Championship career

F1 Career1984–1994
TeamsToleman, Lotus, McLaren, Williams
Entries162 (161 starts)
Championships3 (1988, 1990, 1991)
Career points610 (614)1
Pole positions65
Fastest laps19
First entry1984 Brazilian Grand Prix
First win1985 Portuguese Grand Prix
Last win1993 Australian Grand Prix
Last entry1994 San Marino Grand Prix
Up until 1990, not all points scored by a driver contributed to their final World Championship tally.

Ayrton Senna Formula One records

Senna holds/held these Formula One records:

Most consecutive pole positions81988 Spanish Grand Prix – 1989 United States Grand Prix
Most consecutive front-row starts241988 German Grand Prix – 1989 Australian Grand Prix
Most consecutive wins at the same Grand Prix5Monaco Grand Prix 1989–1993
Most consecutive pole positions at the same Grand Prix7San Marino Grand Prix 1985–1991
Highest percentage of front row starts in a season100%1989


Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
French Williams 1980 Argentine Grand Prix F1 Legend
Finnish McLaren 1991 United States Grand Prix F1 Legend


Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Team Lotus British 1958 Historic
McLaren British 1966 Current
Williams British 1978 Current