Renault F1 Team Logo




  • Renault Formula 1 Team Official Name
  • Enstone, England Base
  • 1977 F1 Debut
  • n/a Team Boss
  • n/a Technical Chief
  • 2 World Championships

Since 1977, Renault has played a dual role in Formula 1 as a team owner and engine supplier with three stints in the sport.

Notable Team Members and Drivers

Fernando Alonso: A two-time Formula 1 World Champion with Renault, Alonso returned to the sport with the Alpine F1 Team in 2021. In recent seasons, Alonso has driven for Aston Martin.

Esteban Ocon: A rising star in Formula 1, Ocon joined in 2020 before they became Alpine, where he secured his maiden victory in F1 at the 2021 Hungarian Grand Prix.

Cyril Abiteboul: Abiteboul was a notable team principal for the Renault F1 Team before its rebranding to Alpine. His time at the team saw their resurgence in competitiveness and the strengthening of its operational and technical base.

Previous Names: Toleman, Benetton, Lotus F1 Team
Next Name: Alpine F1 Team

Renault first entered Formula 1 as a works team in 1977, pioneering turbo engines in the sport with its EF1 engine. Such was its success that, by 1983, it had started providing engines to other teams up and down the grid. But, by the end of the 1985 season, Renault had decided to step back from team ownership despite race victories ending their first stint in Formula 1. The team returned as an F1 owner again from 2002 to 2011 and again when they acquired the Lotus F1 Team in 2016.

Following its first stint in the sport, Renault transitioned to an engine supplier role after the 1985 season. This role was briefly interrupted when Renault exited after 1986, only to return in 1989. This time, Renault focused on supplying engines. Between 1992 and 1997, it secured five drivers’ championships and six constructors’ championships with Williams and Benetton, eventually ceasing its factory supply after 1997. However, teams still used Renault engines until 2000 without official factory support.

In 2000, Renault took over the Benetton Formula 1 Team (originally Toleman), based in Enstone, and resumed its role as a factory engine supplier in 2001. The team, now operating under the Renault name since 2002, clinched both the drivers’ and constructors’ championships in 2005 and 2006, with Fernando Alonso winning both drivers’ championships.

From 2007 to 2020, Renault’s engines also powered various teams, even when not directly competing as a constructor, and even achieved four drivers’ and constructors’ titles with Red Bull Racing from 2010 to 2013.

During this time as engine supplier to Red Bull Racing, Renault underwent another transformation, competing under the Lotus F1 name from 2012 to 2015. This was a transitional period, linking to the team’s history when the Caterham team operated under the Lotus name.

In 2016, Renault reacquired the Lotus F1 Team, becoming a team owner again and reintroducing it under the Renault name. In the same year, while still supplying engines to Red Bull, their engines were branded under the TAG Heuer name, a nod to a unique branding partnership for Red Bull. Similarly, in 2017, despite supplying engines to Toro Rosso, the cars did not bear the Renault name.

Towards the end of the 2010s, Renault also entered into a partnership with McLaren, which replaced the Honda engines it had been running. This deal ran from 2018 to the end of the 2020 season.

After five seasons since acquiring the Lotus team, Renault hadn’t secured any wins and transitioned to their sports car brand name, Alpine, in 2021, with Renault continuing as the engine supplier.

While Renault has dipped in and out of the sport since 1977 they have entered 304 races, secured 35 wins and two constructors’ and drivers’ championships as a team owner. As an engine supplier, it has amassed 12 constructors’ and 11 drivers’ championships, with over 160 wins, placing it fourth in the sport’s all-time rankings.

Renault Formula One World Championship Records

First entry1977 British Grand Prix
Races entered403 entries (400 starts)
Constructors’ Championships2 (2005, 2006)
Drivers’ Championships2 (2005, 2006)
Race victories35
Pole positions51
Fastest laps33
Final entry2020 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Renault Formula 1 Team Drivers’ Champions

The following drivers won the Formula One Drivers’ Championship for Renault Formula 1 Team.

DriverNationalityChampionship Year
Fernando AlonsoSpanish2005
Fernando AlonsoSpanish2006

Renault Constructor Championship Results


1977RS01Jean-Pierre Jabouille0NC
1978RS01Jean-Pierre Jabouille312th
Jean-Pierre Jabouille
René Arnoux
1980RE20Jean-Pierre Jabouille
René Arnoux
Alain Prost
René Arnoux
1982RE30BAlain Prost
René Arnoux
Alain Prost
Eddie Cheever
1984RE50Patrick Tambay
Derek Warwick
Philippe Streiff
Patrick Tambay
Derek Warwick
François Hesnault


2002R202Jarno Trulli
Jenson Button
Jarno Trulli
Fernando Alonso
2004R24Jarno Trulli
Jacques Villeneuve
Fernando Alonso
2005R25Fernando Alonso
Giancarlo Fisichella
2006R26Fernando Alonso
Giancarlo Fisichella
2007R27Giancarlo Fisichella
Heikki Kovalainen
2008R28Fernando Alonso
Nelson Piquet Jr.
2009R29Fernando Alonso
Nelson Piquet Jr.
Romain Grosjean
2010R30Robert Kubica
Vitaly Petrov
2011R31Nick Heidfeld
Bruno Senna
Vitaly Petrov


2016R.S.16Kevin Magnussen
Jolyon Palmer
2017R.S.17Nico Hülkenberg
Jolyon Palmer
Carlos Sainz
2018R.S.18Nico Hülkenberg
Carlos Sainz
2019R.S.19Daniel Ricciardo
Nico Hülkenberg
2020R.S.20Daniel Ricciardo
Esteban Ocon

Renault Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
French Williams 1980 Argentine Grand Prix F1 Legend
Australian RB 2011 British Grand Prix Current
French Alpine 2016 Belgian Grand Prix Current
German Haas 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix Current
Spanish Aston Martin 2001 Australian Grand Prix Current
French Haas 2009 European Grand Prix Retired
British McLaren 2000 Australian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Danish Haas 2014 Australian Grand Prix Current
Spanish Ferrari 2015 Australian Grand Prix Current
Polish Alfa Romeo 2006 Hungarian Grand Prix Retired

Previous/Next Team Names

Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Benetton British, Italian 1986 Historic
Lotus F1 British 2012 Historic
Alpine French 2021 Current