Nico Hulkenberg F1 2023


Nico Hülkenberg


  • Emmerich am Rhein, Germany Place of Birth
  • 19 August 1987 Date of Birth
  • 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix F1 Debut
  • Haas Current/Last Team


Born on 19 August 1987, Nico Hülkenberg is a German F1 driver currently with the Haas F1 Team.

His illustrious career includes a championship win in the 2009 GP2 Series and has triumphed in the Formula 3 Euro Series and the A1 Grand Prix for A1 Team Germany.

Notably, Hülkenberg is among the elite six drivers who, since 2005, clinched the GP2 Series/Formula 2 title in their debut season — joining the ranks of Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Charles Leclerc, George Russell, and Oscar Piastri.

Beyond Formula One, Hülkenberg made his mark by winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2015 on his maiden attempt and participated in two rounds of the 2015 FIA World Endurance Championship for Porsche.

Hülkenberg began his Formula One journey with Williams in 2010. Despite a notable achievement of securing the team’s first pole position in over half a decade, he transitioned to Force India as a test and reserve driver in 2011, stepping up to a race seat in 2012.

2013 saw him with Sauber, only to return to Force India in 2014.

By October 2016, he made a move to Renault for the 2017 season but in 2020 was replaced by Esteban Ocon, leading him to serve as a reserve driver for Racing Point. That same year, he raced for the team in three events due to positive COVID tests by Lance Stroll and Sergio Perez.

Another opportunity arose in 2022 when he filled in for Sebastian Vettel at Aston Martin for the initial two races due to Vettel’s COVID diagnosis. Hülkenberg’s performances in those races marked his full-time return in the 2023 season with Haas F1 Team.

As of 2023, Hülkenberg holds an unfortunate distinction — the highest number of Formula One race starts without achieving a podium.


Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
Mexican Red Bull Racing 2011 Australian Grand Prix Current
Spanish Ferrari 2015 Australian Grand Prix Current
Australian RB 2011 British Grand Prix Current
Canadian Aston Martin 2017 Australian Grand Prix Current
Danish Haas 2014 Australian Grand Prix Current
Brazilian Williams 1993 South African Grand Prix Retired
British Ferrari 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Current


Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Williams British 1978 Current
Force India Indian 2008 Historic
Sauber Swiss 1993 Current
Racing Point British 2019 Historic
Aston Martin British 1959 Current
Haas American 2016 Current
Renault French 1977 Historic