Aston Martin Formula One Logo


Aston Martin


  • Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Team Official Name
  • Silverstone, United Kingdom Base
  • 1959 F1 Debut
  • Mike Krack Team Boss
  • Dan Fallows Technical Chief
  • 0 World Championships

Aston Martin, a distinguished British car brand, has been in Formula One multiple times and rejoined the paddock in 2021 as the Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Team.

Current Aston Martin Drivers

14 Fernando Alonso F1 2023


2001 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut

Aston Martin Current/Last Team

18 Lance Stroll F1 2023


2017 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut

Aston Martin Current/Last Team

Full Team Name: Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant F1 Team
Base: Silverstone, United Kingdom
Team Chief: Mike Krack
Technical Chief: Dan Fallows
First Team Entry: 1959
World Championships: 0

The company’s initial venture into the sport was during the 1959 season with their self-produced DBR4 chassis, which unfortunately failed to earn any points. Aston Martin competed again during the 1960 season but subsequently decided to withdraw from Formula One at the end of that season after the British Grand Prix to focus on sports car racing.

The current teams lineage can be traced back to Jordan Grand Prix and has been known as Midland F1 Racing, Spyker F1, Force India, and Racing Point F1 Team. However, the brand returned in 2021 as Aston Martin, following a commercial rebranding of the Racing Point F1 Team, using Mercedes power units. The team in several of its incarnations has used Mercedes engines for seventeen seasons from 2009, a partnership that concludes at the end of the 2025 season for a Honda engine deal. In the past, Jordan Grand Prix ran Mugen-Honda engines between 1998 and 2000 and Honda power units in 2001 and 2002.

As part of its rebranding, the team transitioned from the title sponsor BWT pink, synonymous with the Racing Point livery, to a contemporary British racing green as Aston Martin. In January 2021, Cognizant was announced as the new title sponsor of the team and their first car in this era, the Aston Martin AMR21, was revealed in March 2021, after a 61-year break from the sport.

Sergio Pérez had a contract to race for the team until 2022, but he was replaced by four-time Drivers’ Champion Sebastian Vettel, who left Ferrari to join the team. Perez without a seat, went on to joing Red Bull Racing alongside Max Verstappen. Vettel joined Lance Stroll, son of team owner Lawrence Stroll, to complete the driver lineup. The team also included Nico Hülkenberg as their reserve and development driver.

In their first season Vettel earned Aston Martin’s first podium by finishing second in the 2021 Azerbaijan Grand Prix. He then followed this up with another second place at the 2021 Hungarian Grand Prix, but was disqualified post-race due to a fuel sample issue.

Sebastian Vettel retired at the end of the 2022 season with Fernando Alonso, a two-time World Champion, signing as his replacement for the 2023 season on a multi-year contract. Stoffel Vandoorne joined the team as their new test and reserve driver, sharing duties with Felipe Drugovich. Nico Hülkenberg departed from Aston Martin in 2023 to rejoin the grid with a full-time seat at the Haas F1 Team.

As part of a works partnership with Honda, the team will be switching to Honda power units starting in 2026, who will be managing their F1 program through their racing division, Honda Racing Corporation (HRC). This partnership ensures that the team will have full factory support from Honda, which includes customised power units specifically designed for their chassis. The collaboration will also enable the team to integrate the chassis and power unit without making unwanted compromises. Many see this move towards a works team status as a vital step towards becoming a legitimate contender for the title.

Aston Martin Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
Canadian Aston Martin 2017 Australian Grand Prix Current
German Aston Martin 2007 United States Grand Prix F1 Legend
German Haas 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix Current
Spanish Aston Martin 2001 Australian Grand Prix Current

Previous/Next Team Names

Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Jordan Grand Prix Irish 1991 Historic
Midland Russian 2006 Historic
Spyker F1 Netherlands 2007 Historic
Force India Indian 2008 Historic
Racing Point British 2019 Historic