Spyker F1 Team Logo


Spyker F1


  • Spyker F1 Team Official Name
  • Silverstone, United Kingdom Base
  • 2007 F1 Debut
  • Colin Kolles Team Boss
  • James Key Technical Chief
  • 0 World Championships

The Spyker F1 Team, competing under a Dutch license, made its mark in the 2007 Formula One World Championship after Spyker Cars acquired the Midland F1 team, which itself was a continuation of the Jordan Grand Prix lineage. The team’s entry into F1, although brief, would see the teams transition to what would become Force India.

Notable Team Members and Drivers

Adrian Sutil: One of the main drivers for Spyker F1 Team during the 2007 season, Sutil scored the team’s first and only championship point at the 2007 Japanese Grand Prix.

Christijan Albers: Started the 2007 season as a driver for Spyker but was released mid-season due to sponsorship issues.​

Markus Winkelhock: Although his time with Spyker was brief, Winkelhock made a significant impact by leading the European Grand Prix.

The team, officially recognised as the Etihad Aldar Spyker F1 Team due to sponsorship agreements, raced in the 2007 Formula One season under a Dutch license and proudly wore a striking orange and silver colour livery, reflecting the national colours of the Netherlands and mirroring the design found on the Spyker Spyder GT2-R racing car. 2007 also marked only the second time a Dutch constructor had raced in F1 history, following Boro Racing during the 1976 and 1977 seasons.

Initially established as Jordan Grand Prix in 1991, the team underwent several transformations before becoming Spyker F1 in 2006. Acquired by the Midland Group in 2005 and rebranded as Midland F1 for the 2006 season, it was later sold to Spyker Cars towards the end of 2006.

At the mid-season point of 2006, there was speculation around the Midland F1 team’s future, with rumours of a sale circulating due to the increased value of Formula 1 teams, as no new entries were permitted after 2008. On 9 September 2006, the team’s sale to Spyker Cars was confirmed, with the transaction valued at $106.6 million. This acquisition by Spyker, known for its hand-built luxury cars, led to a rebranding of the team and its livery to reflect the new ownership.

For the remainder of the 2006 season, drivers Christijan Albers and Tiago Monteiro, drivers for Midland, were retained to finish the 2006 season. The announcement that Albers would continue with the team into 2007 was made during Spyker’s first race in China. The team, temporarily named Spyker MF1 Racing due to FIA naming regulations, introduced a revised livery for the last three races of 2006, signalling the beginning of Spyker’s ownership for 2007 before eventually transitioning to Force India in 2008.

Spyker F1 Legacy

Spyker’s time in Formula 1, while short-lived, saw a high when Adrian Sutil scored the team’s first and only championship point at the 2007 Japanese Grand Prix, thanks to a post-race penalty for Vitantonio Liuzzi in the Toro Rosso. Stewards deemed that he had overtaken Sutil under a yellow flag on lap 55.

Financial challenges led to the sale of Spyker F1 towards the end of 2007. The team was purchased by a consortium led by Indian businessman Vijay Mallya and Dutch entrepreneur Michiel Mol, marking the end of Spyker’s brief stint in Formula One. For the 2008 season, the team was rebranded as Force India. Spyker’s lineage lives on through the successive achievements of Force India and its further evolution into Racing Point and, eventually, Aston Martin.

Spyker F1 Formula One World Championship Records

First entry2007 Australian Grand Prix
Races entered17
Constructors’ Championships0
Drivers’ Championships0
Race victories0
Pole positions0
Fastest laps0
Final entry2007 Brazilian Grand Prix

Spyker F1 Championship Results

2007Spyker F1 TeamF8-VII
Adrian Sutil
Christijan Albers
Markus Winkelhock
Sakon Yamamoto

Previous/Next Team Names

Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Jordan Grand Prix Irish 1991 Historic
Midland Russian 2006 Historic
Force India Indian 2008 Historic
Racing Point British 2019 Historic
Aston Martin British 1959 Current