2021 F1 World Championship

Season Summary

The 2021 F1 season was contested over 22 Grand Prix weekends, starting in March and concluding in December, with races subject to the COVID-19 regulations set by local governments and the Formula One Group.

This season was distinctive as it was the first time since 2008 that the Drivers’ Champion did not drive for the Constructors’ Championship team. It also marked the final season for the 2007 World Champion, Kimi Räikkönen.


Driving for Red Bull Racing, Max Verstappen secured his first F1 Drivers’ Championship with ten wins throughout the season. He made history as the first Dutch driver, the first Honda-powered champion since Ayrton Senna in 1991, the first for Red Bull since Sebastian Vettel in 2013, and the first non-Mercedes champion in the turbo-hybrid era to clinch the World Championship.

Lewis Hamilton, defending four back-to-back championships (2017-2020) and seven-time overall champion, finished as the runner-up in the Mercedes. Mercedes continued their dominance, winning the Constructors’ Championship for the eighth consecutive year.

The season was exhilarating for fans. It featured an intense battle between Verstappen and Hamilton that would play out season-long with controversial on-track moments, including race-ending accidents between the pair at the British, Hungarian, and Italian Grand Prix. This led to the championship changing hands between the two drivers several times.

Entering the final race in Abu Dhabi, equal on points, Hamilton and Verstappen’s season concluded dramatically. The handling of a safety car period, where the rulebook was not followed, in the final laps led to controversy, culminating in Verstappen passing Hamilton after a late restart to win the race and, ultimately, the Drivers’ Championship.

Mercedes’ initial protest was rejected, and they ultimately chose not to appeal further. The incident prompted significant revisions in race control, including replacing Michael Masi as race director for the 2022 season and establishing a virtual race control room to support the director.

2021 F1 Entries drivers and teams

2021 Formula 1 Race Calendar

The 2021 racing calendar included 22 Grand Prix weekends. The British, Italian and São Paulo weekends also included the Sprint format.

RoundGrand PrixCircuitRace date
1Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain International Circuit28-Mar
2Emilia Romagna Grand PrixAutodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari18-Apr
3Portuguese Grand PrixAlgarve International Circuit02-May
4Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya09-May
5Monaco Grand PrixCircuit de Monaco23-May
6Azerbaijan Grand PrixBaku City Circuit06-Jun
7French Grand PrixCircuit Paul Ricard20-Jun
8Styrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring27-Jun
9Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring04-Jul
10British Grand PrixSilverstone Circuit18-Jul
11Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring01-Aug
12Belgian Grand PrixCircuit de Spa-Francorchamps29-Aug
13Dutch Grand PrixCircuit Zandvoort05-Sep
14Italian Grand PrixAutodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari12-Sep
15Russian Grand PrixSochi Autodrom26-Sep
16Turkish Grand PrixIstanbul Park10-Oct
17United States Grand PrixCircuit of The Americas24-Oct
18Mexico City Grand PrixAutódromo Hermanos Rodríguez07-Nov
19São Paulo Grand PrixAutodromo José Carlos Pace14-Nov
20Qatar Grand PrixLusail International Circuit21-Nov
21Saudi Arabian Grand PrixJeddah Corniche Circuit05-Dec
22Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina Circuit12-Dec

2021 Formula 1 Race Results

RoundGrand PrixPole positionFastest lapWinning driverWinning constructor
1Bahrain Grand PrixMax VerstappenValtteri BottasLewis HamiltonMercedes
2Emilia Romagna Grand PrixLewis HamiltonLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
3Portuguese Grand PrixValtteri BottasValtteri BottasLewis HamiltonMercedes
4Spanish Grand PrixLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenLewis HamiltonMercedes
5Monaco Grand PrixCharles LeclercLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
6Azerbaijan Grand PrixCharles LeclercMax VerstappenSergio PérezRed Bull Racing-Honda
7French Grand PrixMax VerstappenMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
8Styrian Grand PrixMax VerstappenLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
9Austrian Grand PrixMax VerstappenMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
10British Grand PrixMax VerstappenSergio PérezLewis HamiltonMercedes
11Hungarian Grand PrixLewis HamiltonPierre GaslyEsteban OconAlpine-Renault
12Belgian Grand PrixMax VerstappenN/AMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
13Dutch Grand PrixMax VerstappenLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
14Italian Grand PrixMax VerstappenDaniel RicciardoDaniel RicciardoMcLaren-Mercedes
15Russian Grand PrixLando NorrisLando NorrisLewis HamiltonMercedes
16Turkish Grand PrixValtteri BottasValtteri BottasValtteri BottasMercedes
17United States Grand PrixMax VerstappenLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
18Mexico City Grand PrixValtteri BottasValtteri BottasMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda
19São Paulo Grand PrixValtteri BottasSergio PérezLewis HamiltonMercedes
20Qatar Grand PrixLewis HamiltonMax VerstappenLewis HamiltonMercedes
21Saudi Arabian Grand PrixLewis HamiltonLewis HamiltonLewis HamiltonMercedes
22Abu Dhabi Grand PrixMax VerstappenMax VerstappenMax VerstappenRed Bull Racing-Honda

2021 Formula 1 Standings

Driver standings

Team standings