Carlos Sainz F1 2023


Carlos Sainz


  • Madrid, Spain Place of Birth
  • 1 September 1994 Date of Birth
  • 2015 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut
  • Ferrari Current/Last Team


Carlos Sainz, born on 1st September 1994, is a talented Spanish racing driver currently making waves in Formula One for Scuderia Ferrari. With a double World Rally Champion father in Carlos Sainz Sr., Sainz Jr. inherited his passion for motorsports at a young age.

He began his journey with the Red Bull Junior Team in 2010 and earned his first experience in a Formula One car at the young drivers’ test at Silverstone Circuit in July 2013, where he drove both the Toro Rosso STR8 and the Red Bull RB9. Sainz’s incredible driving abilities caught the attention of the struggling Caterham team for a potential race debut in 2014, but ultimately, no agreement was reached.

Sainz won the Formula Renault 3.5 Series title, which granted him the privilege of driving the Red Bull RB10 in the post-season test after the 2014 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. In 2012, Sainz raced for Carlin in the British and European Formula 3 championships before racing for DAMS in the 2014 Formula Renault 3.5 season, where he won the championship before moving to F1 with Toro Rosso.

In 2019, Sainz moved to McLaren, ending his contract with Red Bull Racing and went on to make headlines when he secured his first Formula One podium finish with third place for the team at the 2019 Brazilian Grand Prix.

At the end of the 2020 season, Sainz joined the prestigious Ferrari team, and his success has continued to soar. At the 2022 British Grand Prix, Sainz achieved his maiden Formula One pole position and career win, with his second Formula One win at the 2023 Singapore Grand Prix, after starting in pole position for the fifth time in his career.

Sainz’s accomplishments in Formula One speak for themselves, and it’s clear that his passion for racing runs deep. With his talent, skill, and unwavering dedication, Sainz has firmly established himself as one of the brightest stars in the world of motorsports.


Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
Dutch Red Bull Racing 2015 Australian Grand Prix Current
French Alpine 2017 Malaysian Grand Prix Current
German Haas 2010 Bahrain Grand Prix Current
British McLaren 2019 Australian Grand Prix Current
Monégasque Ferrari 2018 Australian Grand Prix Current
Russian AlphaTauri 2014 Australian Grand Prix Retired
British Ferrari 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix Current


Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Toro Rosso Italian 2006 Historic
McLaren British 1966 Current
Ferrari Italian 1950 Current
Renault French 1977 Historic