Nigel Mansell F1 1995

F1 Legend

Nigel Mansell


  • 8 August 1953 Place of Birth
  • Upton-upon-Severn, England Date of Birth
  • 1980 Austrian Grand Prix F1 Debut
  • McLaren Current/Last Team

Nigel Mansell, CBE, is one of the most celebrated retired British racing drivers whose career spanned 15 seasons in Formula One.

Mansell is widely regarded as one of the greatest drivers in the history of F1 and motorsport, having won both the Formula One Drivers’ World Championship in 1992 and the CART Indy Car World Series in 1993. By winning these championships in consecutive years, he is the only F1 or Indy Car driver to achieve this feat.

Nigel Mansell Williams Podium
Nigel Mansell celebrates pole position for the 1987 Monaco Grand Prix.
BornNigel Ernest James Mansell
8 August 1953
Upton-upon-Severn, Worcestershire, England

During his time in Formula One, Mansell amassed a remarkable record of 31 victories, making him the second most successful British Formula One driver of all time, behind Lewis Hamilton. He also holds the record for the most poles set in a single season, a feat that stood for over a decade until Sebastian Vettel broke it in 2011.

After his time in Formula One, Mansell made the move to the CART series, where he clinched the championship title in his debut season. This made him the only person in history to hold both the Formula One World Drivers’ Championship and the American open-wheel National Championship simultaneously.

Despite retiring from competitive racing, Mansell has continued to be involved in Formula One in various capacities. In 2005, he raced in the Grand Prix Masters series and won the championship title. He has also participated in several sports car races alongside his sons, including the prestigious 24 Hours of Le Mans in 2010.

Mansell’s incredible contributions to motorsports have earned him a well-deserved place in the International Motorsports Hall of Fame, where he was inducted in 2005.

Nigel Mansell Formula One World Championship career

F1 Career1980–1992, 1994–1995
TeamsLotus, Williams, Ferrari, McLaren
Entries192 (187 starts)
Championships1 (1992)
Career points480 (482)1
Pole positions32
Fastest laps30
First entry1980 Austrian Grand Prix
First win1985 European Grand Prix
Last win1994 Australian Grand Prix
Last entry1995 Spanish Grand Prix
Up until 1990, not all points scored by a driver contributed to their final World Championship tally.


Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
American Ferrari 1968 United States Grand Prix F1 Legend
Brazilian Benetton 1978 German Grand Prix F1 Legend
French Williams 1980 Argentine Grand Prix F1 Legend
British Williams 1992 Spanish Grand Prix F1 Legend
Finnish McLaren 1991 United States Grand Prix F1 Legend


Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Team Lotus British 1958 Historic
Williams British 1978 Current
Ferrari Italian 1950 Current
McLaren British 1966 Current