Pedro de la Rosa


  • Barcelona, Spain Place of Birth
  • 24 February 1971 Date of Birth
  • 1999 Australian Grand Prix F1 Debut
  • HRT Formula 1 Team Current/Last Team

Pedro de la Rosa may not have made as big a splash in the F1 world as Fernando Alonso, but he did achieve a notable feat by scoring a championship point on his debut with Arrows in 1999.

BornPedro Martínez de la Rosa
24 February 1971
Barcelona, Spain

De la Rosa clinched the Formula Renault Eurocup in 1992. However, after two unremarkable years in British Formula Three, he moved to Japan.

In Japan, he won the F3 championship in 1995 and then progressed to Formula Nippon, where he secured the title in 1997 on his second attempt. This success led him to become a test driver for Jordan, which was using Japanese Mugen-Honda engines at the time.


Pedro de la Rosa’s debut point came with Arrows but was a fleeting success; he never finished in the top six again that season, plagued by repeated technical failures.

In 2000, the pattern continued, though he managed two sixth-place finishes, adding two points to his tally.


In 2001, de la Rosa moved to Jaguar, replacing Luciano Burti. He occasionally challenged teammate Eddie Irvine, but both drivers were out by the end of 2002.

This marked the end of de la Rosa’s initial stint in F1, though he would return.


After losing his race seat, de la Rosa joined McLaren’s test team alongside Alexander Wurz, contributing to the team’s resurgence.

Although McLaren favoured the faster Wurz, a shoulder injury sidelined Juan Pablo Montoya for the 2005 Bahrain race, and de la Rosa stepped in since Wurz was too tall for the MP4-20. De la Rosa delivered a strong performance, finishing fourth, but relinquished the car to Wurz for Imola after it was modified to fit him better.

With Wurz moving to Williams, de la Rosa stayed at McLaren for 2006. This paid off when Montoya left mid-season, and de la Rosa was called up again, achieving his best career result with a second-place finish at the Hungaroring.

In 2007, de la Rosa returned to full-time testing as Lewis Hamilton joined the team. He remained in the spotlight due to his involvement in the McLaren-Ferrari espionage scandal. It was revealed that de la Rosa and Alonso, who also joined McLaren that year, exchanged emails discussing confidential Ferrari information obtained by Mike Coughlan.

These emails led to McLaren’s expulsion from the 2007 Constructors’ Championship and a $100 million fine. Despite Alonso’s departure at the end of the year, de la Rosa stayed on as the third driver, with Heikki Kovalainen taking the second race seat.


After two years on the sidelines, Pedro de la Rosa joined Sauber as a race driver for the 2010 season. However, he was dropped and replaced by Nick Heidfeld five races before the end of the year.

De la Rosa then conducted a series of tyre tests for Pirelli to help develop their new F1 tyre until early 2011. He returned to McLaren as a test driver at the beginning of the 2011 season. When Sergio Perez was injured in Monaco, de la Rosa made a one-off return to Sauber as a substitute driver for the 2011 Canadian Grand Prix.


De la Rosa secured a full-time seat with the Spanish team HRT in 2012. Although it was intended to be the start of a two-year deal, it became apparent as the season progressed that the team would not continue into 2013.

Despite limited opportunities to showcase his potential, de la Rosa consistently outperformed teammate Narain Karthikeyan and occasionally out-qualified the Marussias. Toward the end of the season, the F112s experienced several failures, but de la Rosa denied that the team was overextending their parts’ lifespan.

Unsurprisingly, the team folded at the end of the season, ending de la Rosa’s chances of continuing in 2013.


In 2013, de la Rosa joined Ferrari as a test driver and remained with the team until 2014.

In 2022, Aston Martin announced de la Rosa as the new ambassador for their Formula 1 team.

Pedro de la Rosa Formula One World Championship career

F1 Career1999–2002, 2005–2006, 2010–2012
TeamsArrows, Jaguar, McLaren, Sauber, HRT
Entries107 (104 starts)
Career points35
Pole positions0
Fastest laps1
First entry1999 Australian Grand Prix
Last entry2012 Brazilian Grand Prix

Pedro de la Rosa Teammates

TeammatesInvolvementFirst YearLast Year
Tora Takagi161999
Jos Verstappen172000
Eddie Irvine3020012002
Kimi Räikkönen2120052006
Juan Pablo Montoya112005
Alexander Wurz22005
Kamui Kobayashi1520102011
Sergio Pérez12011
Narain Karthikeyan202012
Dani Close Clos62012
Ma Qinghua42012

Formula One Record

YearEntrantTeamWDC Pts.WDC Pos.Report
1998 Benson & Hedges JordanJordan-Mugen-HondaTest Driver
1999 Danka ArrowsArrows118thReport
2000 Arrows F1 TeamArrows-Supertec216thReport
2001 Prost AcerProst-AcerTest DriverReport
Jaguar RacingJaguar-Ford Cosworth316th
2002 Jaguar RacingJaguar-Ford Cosworth021stReport
2003 West McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest Driver
2004 West McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest Driver
2005 West McLaren Mercedes
Team McLaren Mercedes
McLaren-MercedesTest DriverReport
2006 Team McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest DriverReport
2007 Vodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest Driver
2008 Vodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest Driver
2009 Vodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest Driver
2010 BMW Sauber F1 TeamBMW Sauber-Ferrari617thReport
Pirelli Tyres Test TeamPirelliTest Driver
2011 Vodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren-MercedesTest DriverReport
Sauber F1 TeamSauber-Ferrari020th
2012 HRT Formula One TeamHRT-Cosworth025thReport
2013 Scuderia FerrariFerrariTest Driver
2014 Scuderia FerrariFerrariTest Driver
Italics indicate a test-driving position.

Complete Formula One Results

2003–2004: Test driver
2007–2009: Test driver

Sources: and


Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
Dutch Minardi 1994 Brazilian Grand Prix Retired
British Jaguar 1993 Japanese Grand Prix Retired
Finnish Alfa Romeo 2001 Australian Grand Prix F1 Legend
Colombian McLaren 2001 Australian Grand Prix Retired
Mexican Red Bull Racing 2011 Australian Grand Prix Current


Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Arrows British 1978 Historic
Jaguar British 2000 Historic
McLaren British 1966 Current
Sauber Swiss 1993 Current
HRT Formula 1 Team Spanish 2010 Historic