Jaguar F1 Team Logo




  • Jaguar Racing F1 Team Official Name
  • Milton Keynes, United Kingdom Base
  • 2000 F1 Debut
  • Tony Purnell/Niki Lauda Team Boss
  • Technical Chief
  • 0 World Championships

Jaguar Racing was established after Ford acquired Jackie Stewart’s Stewart Grand Prix Formula One team in June 1999. On September 14, 1999, Ford rebranded the team to align with its global marketing strategy, promoting its premium Jaguar car brand. Despite the Jaguar branding, the team continued to use Ford Cosworth engines without any Jaguar engineering input, also serving as Ford’s official full-works Formula One team.

Notable Team Members and Drivers

Eddie Irvine: A key driver for Jaguar Racing, Irvine joined the team in 2000 after a successful stint with Ferrari, where he was a runner-up in the 1999 World Championship.

Niki Lauda: The three-time Formula One World Champion served as the team principal for Jaguar Racing in 2001 and 2002. Lauda’s leadership aimed to steer the team through restructuring and improvement, although his time with the team was marked by challenges and eventual departure.

Mark Webber: Joining Jaguar Racing in 2003, Webber demonstrated strong performances and often outperformed the capabilities of the car.

The driver lineup over the years included Eddie Irvine from 2000 to 2002, Johnny Herbert in 2000, Luciano Burti for several races in 2001 and the Austrian Grand Prix in 2000, Pedro de la Rosa in 2001 and 2002, Antônio Pizzonia until the Hockenheim race in 2003, Mark Webber in 2003 and 2004, Justin Wilson from Hockenheim to the end of 2003, and Christian Klien in 2004.

At the end of the 2004 season, Jaguar Racing was acquired by Red Bull, leading to the creation of the Red Bull Racing team. Jaguar Cars later resurrected Jaguar Racing to participate in the Formula E Championship starting in 2016.

Jaguar Formula One World Championship Records

First entry2000 Australian Grand Prix
Races entered85
Constructors’ Championships0 (best finish: 7th place 3 times, in 2002, 2003, and 2004)
Drivers’ Championships0 (best finish: 9th, Irvine, in 2002)
Race victories0 (best finish: 3rd, 2001 Monaco Grand Prix and 2002 Italian Grand Prix)
Pole positions0
Fastest laps0
Final entry2004 Brazilian Grand Prix

Jaguar Constructors’ Championship Results

2000Jaguar RacingR1Eddie Irvine
Luciano Burti
Johnny Herbert
2001Jaguar RacingR2Eddie Irvine
Luciano Burti
Pedro de la Rosa
2002Jaguar RacingR3
Eddie Irvine
Pedro de la Rosa
2003Jaguar RacingR4Mark Webber
Antonio Pizzonia
Justin Wilson
2004Jaguar RacingR5
Mark Webber
Christian Klien

Jaguar Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
British Jaguar 1993 Japanese Grand Prix Retired
British Jaguar 1989 Brazilian Grand Prix Retired
Australian Red Bull Racing 2002 Australian Grand Prix Retired

Previous/Next Team Names

Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Stewart Grand Prix British 1997 Historic
Red Bull Racing Austrian 2005 Current