Manor Racing F1 Team Logo


Manor Racing


  • Manor Racing MRT Official Name
  • Oxfordshire, United Kingdom Base
  • 2016 F1 Debut
  • Stephen Fitzpatrick Team Boss
  • Luca Furbatto Technical Chief
  • 0 World Championships

Known as Manor Racing, in its final years in Formula 1, the team entered F1 as Virgin Racing in 2010 in partnership with Richard Branson’s Virgin Group; the team underwent several transformations, including a rebranding to Marussia F1 Team in 2012, following investment from the Russian sports car manufacturer Marussia before becoming Manor Racing for the 2016 season.

Notable Team Members and Drivers

Virgin Racing Era (2010): The team debuted with cars designed using computational fluid dynamics (CFD) technology, foregoing traditional wind tunnel testing. This innovative approach met with limited success, leading to a reevaluation of their design strategy.

Marussia Era (2012-2014): Acquired by Marussia, the team continued under a new name, with drivers like Timo Glock and later Jules Bianchi, who delivered the team’s first and only championship point at the 2014 Monaco Grand Prix.

Manor Racing (2015-2016): After financial difficulties and a brief period in administration, the team returned as Manor Racing. Rio Haryanto and Esteban Ocon were among the drivers in its final seasons.

Ahead of the 2015 Formula 1 season, a restructuring plan was started for the Marussia F1 Team with Manor to operate the team independently of Marussia, primarily to retain the 2014 season’s prize money. Before the 2016 season, the team rebranded to Manor Racing MRT and secured a new engine partnership with Mercedes.

Dave Ryan was appointed as team principal in December 2015, with subsequent key additions to the team, including Nikolas Tombazis, chief aerodynamicist, and Pat Fry, engineering consultant, in January 2016. Manor announced Pascal Wehrlein, the 2015 DTM champion and a Mercedes junior driver, alongside Rio Haryanto as their drivers’ for the 2016 season.

The team showcased their new car and brand identity, featuring a red, white, and blue colour scheme, at the beginning of the 2016 season. The season opened with mixed results; Haryanto faced a retirement due to technical issues in Australia, while Wehrlein finished 16th. However, Wehrlein’s performance peaked at the Austrian Grand Prix, where he secured the team’s first and only point in F1 by finishing 10th, marking Manor’s highest achievement in the sport.

Mid-season changes saw Haryanto replaced by Esteban Ocon due to sponsorship difficulties. Despite showing promise, the team faced a significant setback at the Brazilian Grand Prix when Sauber‘s point finish pushed Manor out of contention for crucial championship prize money.

Towards the season’s end, Stephen Fitzpatrick revealed ongoing negotiations with potential new investors. Unfortunately, these efforts did not help in securing the team’s future, leading to Manor’s administration in early January 2017. Although Manor had paid the entry fee for the 2017 season, their inability to compete led to the FIA refunding the fee by year-end​​​​​​​​.

Manor Racing F1 Legacy

Tragic events marked the team’s legacy before being rebranded as Manor Racing. Test driver María de Villota sustained serious injuries in a 2012 testing accident, and race driver Jules Bianchi suffered fatal injuries in a crash at the 2014 Japanese Grand Prix.

Despite an effort to remain competitive, including securing financial investment, Manor Racing could not secure its place in F1 beyond the 2016 season. The team entered administration in early 2017, and efforts to find new investors were unsuccessful, leading to the team’s withdrawal from the sport.

The team’s journey from Virgin Racing to Manor Marussia F1 Team and finally Manor Racing reflects the volatile nature of F1, especially for teams operating with limited budgets.

Manor Racing Formula One World Championship Records

First entry2016 Australian Grand Prix
Races entered21
Constructors’ Championships0
Drivers’ Championships0
Race victories0
Pole positions0
Fastest laps0
Final entry2016 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Manor Racing Constructors’ Championship Results

2016Manor Racing MRTMRT05Rio Haryanto
Esteban Ocon
Pascal Wehrlein

Manor Racing Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
French Alpine 2016 Belgian Grand Prix Current

Previous/Next Team Names

Team Nationality Debut Season Status
Virgin Racing British, Russian 2010 Historic
Marussia F1 British, Russian 2012 Historic