Zakspeed F1 Team Logo




  • Zakspeed Racing Official Name
  • Niederzissen, Germany Base
  • 1985 F1 Debut
  • Jean-Luc Lagardère Team Boss
  • Gustav Brunner Technical Chief
  • 0 World Championships

Zakspeed is a German motor racing team established in 1968 by Erich Zakowski and later managed by his son, Peter Zakowski. The team is headquartered in Niederzissen, Germany, approximately 16 miles from the Nürburgring circuit.

Notable Team Members and Drivers

Jonathan Palmer: Zakspeed’s first driver during their maiden Formula 1 season in 1985.

Christian Danner: The first Formula 3000 champion who joined Zakspeed in 1985 and again in 1987.

Martin Brundle: Former Tyrrell driver who delivered Zakspeed’s best performance with a 5th place finish at the 1987 San Marino Grand Prix, earning the team’s only points finish in their Formula 1 history.

Zakspeed competed in Formula 1 from 1985 to 1988 and became notable for building both their own chassis and engine, a distinction shared only with Ferrari, Alfa Romeo, and Renault at the time. Following an initial season with Jonathan Palmer, the team recruited Christian Danner, the first Formula 3000 champion, and former Tyrrell driver Martin Brundle. The highlight of their time on the grid came when Brundle secured a 5th place finish in the 1987 San Marino Grand Prix, marking their only points finish.

In their final season in 1989, Zakspeed switched to Yamaha engines due to the ban on turbo engines. The new Japanese engines proved unreliable, and drivers Bernd Schneider, a former German Formula 3 champion, Piercarlo Ghinzani, and rookie Aguri Suzuki faced significant challenges. Schneider managed to qualify for only two races and retired from both, while Suzuki was unable to get past the pre-qualifying stage.

After withdrawing from F1, Zakspeed focused exclusively on sport cars.

Zakspeed Racing Formula One World Championship Records

First entry1985 Portuguese Grand Prix
Races entered74
Constructors’ Championships0 (best finish: 10th, 1987)
Drivers’ Championships0
Race victories0 (best finish: 5th, 1987 San Marino Grand Prix)
Pole positions0 (best grid position: 13th, 1987 Mexican Grand Prix)
Fastest laps0
Final entry1989 Australian Grand Prix

Zakspeed Racing Constructors’ Championship Results

1985841Jonathan Palmer
Christian Danner
1986861Jonathan Palmer
Huub Rothengatter
Martin Brundle
Christian Danner
1988881Bernd Schneider
Piercarlo Ghinzani
1989891Bernd Schneider
Aguri Suzuki


Zakspeed Drivers

Driver Nationality Current/Last Team F1 Debut Status
British Jordan Grand Prix 1984 Brazilian Grand Prix Retired
Italian Osella 1981 Belgian Grand Prix Retired