Max Verstappen Conquers Wet-race to Outpace Norris and Russell

F1's champion back to winning ways in an erratic race under shifting conditions; Lando Norris takes second, and George Russell secures third.


By Ben Bush
Updated on June 10, 2024

Max Verstappen (1) Red Bull Racing Wins 2024 Canadian Grand Prix
Max Verstappen (1) Red Bull Racing wins the 2024 Canadian Grand Prix.

Max Verstappen triumphed in the tumultuous Canadian Grand Prix, leaving Lando Norris and George Russell to ponder what might have been after a dramatic race marked by intermittent rain in Montreal.

The 70-lap race was filled with unpredictability, featuring four lead changes and two Safety Car interventions due to crashes. Verstappen skillfully reclaimed his winning form just two weeks after a disappointing showing for Red Bull in Monaco, securing his sixth win of the season and expanding his lead in the world championship to 56 points.

Formula One History Recommends

McLaren’s Norris briefly led the race twice—once after surpassing both Verstappen and Russell—but ultimately finished second, with circumstances, especially during the first Safety Car period, not aligning in his favour.

Russell, starting from pole position, finished third, visibly disappointed after a roller-coaster race that included several errors and a collision with McLaren’s Oscar Piastri.

After dropping to fourth post-collision and subsequent Safety Car period, Russell was overtaken by Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton. Hamilton then moved past Piastri into the final podium spot with just five laps remaining.

However, Russell mounted a comeback and, after overtaking Piastri again, managed to surpass Hamilton on the penultimate lap to clinch Mercedes’ first podium of the 2024 season in its ninth race.

Finishing fourth, Hamilton achieved his best result of the year, although he described it as “one of the worst races that I’ve driven,” despite having won in Montreal seven times previously and starting the race from seventh, six spots behind Russell.

Piastri finished fifth in the second McLaren, having been overtaken by both Mercedes drivers, who were the only frontrunners to opt for a second set of dry tyres during the race.

Aston Martin secured sixth and seventh places, with Fernando Alonso and Canada’s own Lance Stroll, respectively, delivering solid performances.

Daniel Ricciardo rebounded from a five-second penalty for a jump start to finish eighth, marking a significant improvement in what has been a challenging season for him.

Alpine’s Pierre Gasly and Esteban Ocon finished ninth and tenth. However, Ocon was displeased with the team’s late-race strategy that required him to let Gasly pass, aiming to catch Ricciardo ahead.

Ferrari, despite being pegged as favourites following their Monaco victory, experienced a disastrous weekend in Montreal. Both Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz were eliminated in Q2 during qualifying, starting the race outside the top ten. Their troubles continued in the race, culminating in both drivers retiring, marking Ferrari’s first race without points since Australia 2023.

Leclerc’s race was hindered by a power unit issue, while Sainz retired after spinning on a wet kerb at Turn Six right after overtaking Alex Albon, causing a collision that also took out the Williams driver.

Ferrari now trail Red Bull by 49 points in the Constructors’ Championship. Red Bull’s only points came from Verstappen, as Sergio Perez endured a difficult weekend, beginning with an early exit in Q1 and culminating in a race-ending crash after a collision with Gasly on the first lap and subsequent damage from hitting the barriers at Turn Six.

Canadian GP Results

2024 Canadian Grand Prix, 9 June 2024

11Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT701:45:47.92725
24Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes70+3.879s18
363George RussellMercedes70+4.317s15
444Lewis Hamilton1Mercedes70+4.915s13
581Oscar PiastriMcLaren Mercedes70+10.199s10
614Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes70+17.510s8
718Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes70+23.625s6
83Daniel RicciardoRB Honda RBPT70+28.672s4
910Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault70+30.021s2
1031Esteban OconAlpine Renault70+30.313s1
1127Nico HulkenbergHaas Ferrari70+30.824s0
1220Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari70+31.253s0
1377Valtteri BottasKick Sauber Ferrari70+40.487s0
1422Yuki TsunodaRB Honda RBPT70+52.694s0
1524Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber Ferrari69+1 lap0
NC55Carlos SainzFerrari52DNF0
NC23Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes52DNF0
NC11Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT51DNF0
NC16Charles LeclercFerrari40DNF0
NC2Logan SargeantWilliams Mercedes23DNF0
1Fastest lap: Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 1:14.856 (lap 70)


Seen in:

About The Author

Chief Editor

Ben Bush

Ben is our chief editor specialising in F1 from the 1990s to the modern era. Ben has been following Formula 1 since 1986 and is an avid researcher who loves understanding the technology that makes it one of the most exciting motorsport on the planet. He listens to podcasts about F1 on a daily basis, and enjoys reading books from the inspirational Adrian Newey to former F1 drivers.

Latest Reads