2024 Miami GP Sprint Qualifying: Max Verstappen On Pole

Max Verstappen's time proves enough to secure pole position for the 2024 Miami Grand Prix Sprint, despite a messy SQ3 attempt. Charles Leclerc secured second ahead of Sergio Perez, who takes third place.


By Ben Bush
Published on May 3, 2024

Max Verstappen Sprint Qualifying Red Bull Racing 2024 Miami Grand Prix
Max Verstappen grabs Sprint pole for Red Bull at the 2024 Miami Grand Prix

Max Verstappen clinched P1 at the second Sprint Qualifying of the 2024 season, while Charles Leclerc secured second with a strong performance. Sergio Perez, in third, joined Daniel Ricciardo in fourth, who pulled out a remarkable performance in the RB for a second-row start.

Carlos Sainz finished fifth, followed by Oscar Piastri in sixth, leading the Aston Martin duo of Lance Stroll and Fernando Alonso. Lando Norris and Nico Hulkenberg completed the top 10.

Formula One History Recommends

With Max Verstappen securing pole position for the Sprint in Miami after dominating Friday’s Sprint Qualifying, others wondered where McLaren’s earlier pace in SQ2 went, with their challenge fading in the final session.

In a single flying lap showdown in SQ3, Verstappen set the pace with a 1m 27.641s lap, earning him P1 alongside Leclerc on the front row who trailed 0.108s behind.

Sergio Perez claimed third, while Daniel Ricciardo impressed in the RB by taking fourth ahead of Carlos Sainz in fifth for Ferrari.

Despite McLaren’s promising start, their pace waned in SQ3 on the soft tyre, as opposed to the Mediums in SQ2. Oscar Piastri secured P6, with Lando Norris starting from P9, flanked by Lance Stroll and Fernando Alonso in P7 and P8 respectively. Nico Hulkenberg closed out the top 10 for Haas.

Mercedes faced double disappointment with both drivers exiting in SQ2. George Russell lined up in P11, with Lewis Hamilton starting from P12, his session marred by a pit lane infringement.

Esteban Ocon led Alpine to 13th place, ahead of Kevin Magnussen for Haas in 14th. Yuki Tsunoda settled for 15th, again outqualified by teammate Ricciardo.

Pierre Gasly’s qualifying woes persisted as he failed to advance from SQ1, relegating him to P16. Zhou Guanyu and Valtteri Bottas followed in P17 and P18 for Kick Sauber.

Williams faced a tough session as local hero Logan Sargeant finished in 19th, while teammate Alex Albon ended in 20th after having a lap time deleted, dropping him from an initial 16th position.

Miami GP Sprint Qualifying Results

2024 Miami Grand Prix, 3 May 2024

11Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:28.1941:28.0011:27.64112
216Charles LeclercFerrari1:28.5371:27.9771:27.74917
311Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:28.6811:27.8651:27.87611
43Daniel RicciardoRB Honda RBPT1:28.7001:28.1221:28.04414
555Carlos SainzFerrari1:28.4351:28.2621:28.10316
681Oscar PiastriMcLaren Mercedes1:28.0561:28.1631:28.16116
718Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:28.8071:28.3231:28.37515
814Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:28.1921:28.1891:28.41914
94Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes1:27.9391:27.5971:28.47212
1027Nico HulkenbergHaas Ferrari1:29.0401:28.3301:28.47615
1163George RussellMercedes1:28.3871:28.34312
1244Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:28.7361:28.37112
1331Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:28.8731:28.37912
1420Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:28.3771:28.61412
1522Yuki TsunodaRB Honda RBPT1:28.687DNF9
1610Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault1:29.1856
1724Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber Ferrari1:29.2676
1877Valtteri BottasKick Sauber Ferrari1:29.3607
192Logan SargeantWilliams Mercedes1:29.5516
2023Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes1:29.8586

Seen in:

About The Author

Chief Editor

Ben Bush

Ben is our chief editor specialising in F1 from the 1990s to the modern era. Ben has been following Formula 1 since 1986 and is an avid researcher who loves understanding the technology that makes it one of the most exciting motorsport on the planet. He listens to podcasts about F1 on a daily basis, and enjoys reading books from the inspirational Adrian Newey to former F1 drivers.

Latest Reads