Lando Norris Outclasses Max Verstappen For First F1 Win

In his 110th Formula 1 race, Lando Norris clinched his maiden victory by pulling ahead of Max Verstappen to secure the win at the Miami GP.

Mark Phelan

By Mark Phelan
Updated on May 6, 2024

Lando Norris No 4 Mclaren Wins 2024 Miami Grand Prix
Lando Norris secured his first F1 win at the 2024 Miami Grand Prix, becoming the 114th driver in F1 history to take the top step.

Lando Norris in the McLaren catapulted himself into the ranks of F1 winners with a remarkable breakthrough win at the 2024 Miami Grand Prix on Sunday. He overtook his Red Bull rival, Max Verstappen to secure the coveted checkered flag.

Initially running in sixth place, Norris watched as his McLaren teammate Oscar Piastri made a spirited start, hinting at a potential upset. However, a timely Safety Car midway through the race played into Norris’s strategy as he extended his initial stint.

Formula One History Recommends

Emerging from the pits in the lead, Norris found himself ahead of Verstappen, who had pitted under regular racing conditions. Despite Verstappen’s initial pace after the restart, Norris maintained his composure and gradually increased the gap.

Norris’s level-headed performance, coupled with Verstappen’s balance issues, ensured that the British driver exorcised the ghosts of his close call at the 2021 Russian Grand Prix, finally clinching his first win after 110 attempts.

Verstappen settled for second place, struggling with his performance throughout the race, while Charles Leclerc claimed third, leading his Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz, who had a late altercation with Piastri, resulting in Piastri needing a new front wing.

Sergio Perez secured fifth place in the second Red Bull, having also benefited from a pit stop during the Safety Car period. Lewis Hamilton and George Russell salvaged valuable points for Mercedes, finishing in sixth and eighth positions respectively, after a challenging weekend for the team.

Yuki Tsunoda secured seventh place for RB, while Fernando Alonso in the Aston Martin finished ninth, while Esteban Ocon capitalised on Piastri’s misfortune to claim the final point for Alpine in tenth position.

Haas initially seemed poised for a top-10 finish, but Nico Hulkenberg slipped down the order as the race progressed, ultimately finishing 11th ahead of Pierre Gasly in the sister Alpine.

Piastri battled back to 13th place after his front wing change, although under McLaren’s caution not to incite further incidents or Safety Car periods with some spirited overtakes. Meanwhile, Daniel Ricciardo could only manage 15th place after his promising performance in the Sprint race.

Valtteri Bottas and Lance Stroll engaged in a fierce battle, with Stroll receiving a 10-second time penalty for track limits violation. Alex Albon finished 19th behind Kevin Magnussen’s Haas, who also received a time penalty for a collision with Williams driver Logan Sargeant, forcing the latter out of the race.

As the drivers returned to the pits, Norris’s elation was evident over the radio. He celebrated with his race engineer, team principal, and Zak Brown, marking a significant milestone for McLaren with their first Grand Prix victory since Monza in 2021.

Miami GP Results

2024 Miami Grand Prix, 5 May 2024

14Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes571:30:49.87625
21Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT57+7.612s18
316Charles LeclercFerrari57+9.920s15
411Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT57+14.650s12
555Carlos Sainz1Ferrari57+16.407s10
644Lewis HamiltonMercedes57+16.585s8
722Yuki TsunodaRB Honda RBPT57+26.185s6
863George RussellMercedes57+34.789s4
914Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes57+37.107s2
1031Esteban OconAlpine Renault57+39.746s1
1127Nico HulkenbergHaas Ferrari57+40.789s0
1210Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault57+44.958s0
1381Oscar Piastri2McLaren Mercedes57+49.756s0
1424Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber Ferrari57+49.979s0
153Daniel RicciardoRB Honda RBPT57+50.956s0
1677Valtteri BottasKick Sauber Ferrari57+52.356s0
1718Lance Stroll3Aston Martin Aramco Mercedes57+55.173s0
1823Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes57+76.091s0
1920Kevin Magnussen4Haas Ferrari57+84.683s0
NC2Logan SargeantWilliams Mercedes27DNF0
1Sainz was penalized with a five-second time penalty for his role in a collision.
2Fastest lap: Oscar Piastri (McLaren) – 1:30.634 (lap 43)
3Stroll incurred a 10-second time penalty for track limit violations resulting in an advantage gain.
4Magnussen was handed a 10-second time penalty for his involvement in a collision and an additional 20-second penalty for entering the pits during a Safety Car period without changing tyres.

Seen in:

About The Author

Senior Editor

Mark Phelan
Mark Phelan

Mark is a staff writer specialising in the history of Formula 1 races. Mark researches most of our historic content from teams to drivers and races. He has followed Formula 1 since 1988, and admits to having a soft spot for British drivers from James Hunt and Nigel Mansell to Lando Norris. He loves a great F1 podcast and has read pretty much every drivers biography.

Latest Reads