2024 Monaco GP FP3: Leclerc Ahead of Verstappen and Hamilton

Ferrari's Charles Leclerc once again set the fastest time in the final practice session for the Monaco Grand Prix.


By Ben Bush
Published on May 25, 2024

Charles Leclerc Ferrari FP3 2024 Monaco Grand Prix
Charles Leclerc in the Ferrari goes fastest in FP3 for the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix.

Charles Leclerc maintained his and Ferrari’s dominance at the top of the timesheets during Saturday’s final practice session for the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix, leading ahead of Max Verstappen and Lewis Hamilton.

After two practice sessions on Friday to reacquaint themselves with the tight, twisty streets of Monte Carlo, FP3 offered drivers their last opportunity to push the limits and fine-tune their cars ahead of the crucial qualifying hour in the afternoon.

Formula One History Recommends

As the session began, much attention was on Verstappen and Red Bull following their “worst possible” start to the weekend and Verstappen’s assertion that there was “no solution” in sight due to severe bouncing and balance issues.

Predictably, many drivers were quick to hit the track to accumulate more laps, with weather conditions shifting from warm but overcast to hot and mostly clear, showcasing the harbour and the rest of the Principality in the bright sunshine.

About a quarter of the way into the session, Valtteri Bottas in the Kick Sauber was the first to exceed the limit, tapping the wall exiting Piscine, sustaining front-right suspension damage, and bringing out the red flags when he failed to navigate La Rascasse.

Upon arriving at the scene of his former teammate’s incident, Hamilton had to take evasive action. Following the brief stoppage, the seven-time world champion experienced another moment with a heavy lock-up at Sainte Devote, leading to a trip into the run-off area.

The practice session drama didn’t end there. Drivers jostled for track position to complete representative laps, resulting in gesticulations and angry radio messages from Verstappen, Kevin Magnussen, and Sergio Perez as they manoeuvred around slower cars.

After a series of runs on soft tyres, home favourite Leclerc set the benchmark with an impressive lap of 1m 11.369s, placing him a couple of tenths ahead of Verstappen, who had found some performance gains but noted over the radio how hard he was pushing.

Hamilton finished third, another tenth-and-a-half behind, with Oscar Piastri leading McLaren’s charge in fourth, Sergio Perez fifth in the other Red Bull, and George Russell completing the top six in his Mercedes.

Carlos Sainz secured seventh, still some distance from his pace-setting teammate Leclerc, with Lando Norris in eighth in the second McLaren after a near-collision with Russell exiting the tunnel.

Yuki Tsunoda kept RB inside the top 10 with a strong run to ninth, followed by Fernando Alonso’s Aston Martin, Pierre Gasly’s Alpine, Alex Albon’s Williams, and the Haas cars of Nico Hulkenberg and Magnussen.

Lance Stroll, Esteban Ocon, Logan Sargeant, and Daniel Ricciardo followed in the remaining Aston Martin, Alpine, Williams, and RB cars, with Kick Sauber bringing up the rear – Zhou Guanyu in 19th and Bottas 20th, without a time, after his crash.

Monaco GP FP3 Results

2024 Monaco Grand Prix FP3, 25 May 2024

116Charles LeclercFerrari1:11.36926
21Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:11.566+0.197s27
344Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:11.710+0.341s25
481Oscar PiastriMcLaren Mercedes1:11.901+0.532s25
511Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing Honda RBPT1:11.923+0.554s24
663George RussellMercedes1:11.968+0.599s33
755Carlos SainzFerrari1:11.979+0.610s26
84Lando NorrisMcLaren Mercedes1:11.988+0.619s24
922Yuki TsunodaRB Honda RBPT1:11.991+0.622s27
1014Fernando AlonsoAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:12.087+0.718s25
1110Pierre GaslyAlpine Renault1:12.144+0.775s26
1223Alexander AlbonWilliams Mercedes1:12.180+0.811s24
1327Nico HulkenbergHaas Ferrari1:12.192+0.823s24
1420Kevin MagnussenHaas Ferrari1:12.216+0.847s31
1518Lance StrollAston Martin Aramco Mercedes1:12.331+0.962s25
1631Esteban OconAlpine Renault1:12.472+1.103s25
172Logan SargeantWilliams Mercedes1:12.703+1.334s21
183Daniel RicciardoRB Honda RBPT1:12.829+1.460s28
1924Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber Ferrari1:13.830+2.461s28
2077Valtteri BottasKick Sauber Ferrari2

Source: formula1.com

Seen in:

About The Author

Chief Editor

Ben Bush

Ben is our chief editor specialising in F1 from the 1990s to the modern era. Ben has been following Formula 1 since 1986 and is an avid researcher who loves understanding the technology that makes it one of the most exciting motorsport on the planet. He listens to podcasts about F1 on a daily basis, and enjoys reading books from the inspirational Adrian Newey to former F1 drivers.

Latest Reads