What Happened On This Day June 23 In F1 History?

From Jackie Stewart's win for Matra at the 1968 Dutch Grand Prix to Rubens Barrichello's win at the 2002 European Grand Prix.


By Ben Bush
Updated on July 18, 2024

Jackie Stewart Matra 1968 Dutch Grand Prix
Jackie Stewart wins for Matra at the 1968 Dutch Grand Prix.

What happened on this day, June 23 in Formula 1 history? Find out interesting facts and stories about Formula 1 on this day.


Jim Clark dominated the 1963 Dutch Grand Prix, securing Lotus’s tenth Grand Prix victory. Starting from pole, Clark repeatedly broke the lap record, surpassing the 100mph barrier at Zandvoort and lapping all other drivers. Dan Gurney finished second, followed by John Surtees, with Innes Ireland in fourth for the British Racing Partnership in their BRP-BRM, and Richie Ginther fifth.


At the 1968 Dutch Grand Prix, Jackie Stewart achieved Matra‘s inaugural victory amid torrential rain, marking several firsts: the first win for a French manufacturer, the first for a Cosworth engine outside of a Lotus, and the first under the management of Ken Tyrrell. Additionally, Anthony Beltoise finished second in another Matra, powered by their own V12 engine, rounding off a triumphant day for the French aerospace firm.


For the first time in a decade, the United States hosted only one Grand Prix. Finland’s Keke Rosberg overtook pole-sitter Ayrton Senna on the eighth lap, overcame tyre and brake issues, and withstood pressure from the Ferraris of Stefan Johansson and Michele Alboreto to claim victory. Stefan Bellof secured a commendable fourth place for Tyrrell, marking the final points for the legendary Cosworth-Ford V8 engine in what was also Nelson Piquet‘s 100th Grand Prix start.


F1 drivers Johnny Herbert, Bertrand Gachot, and Volker Wiedler triumphed at the 1991 Le Mans 24 Hours, driving a Japanese Mazda to victory. This marked the first win for a car manufactured outside of Western Europe in this prestigious race.


At the 2002 European Grand Prix at the Nurburgring, Rubens Barrichello took the win after his teammate Michael Schumacher experienced a rare spin, relegating him to second place.

Seen in:

About The Author

Chief Editor

Ben Bush

Ben is our chief editor specialising in F1 from the 1990s to the modern era. Ben has been following Formula 1 since 1986 and is an avid researcher who loves understanding the technology that makes it one of the most exciting motorsport on the planet. He listens to podcasts about F1 on a daily basis, and enjoys reading books from the inspirational Adrian Newey to former F1 drivers.

Latest Reads